Skip to content

Rosita Navarro

October 10, 2011
Me and Rosita

Me with Rosita at a dinner for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

Rosita Navarro and I go way back… well, back to 2004… so maybe not waaaaaay back, but way back.  I met her during my first year at The Citadel.  I was a terrified little freshmen cadet, so it was a relief to meet a softhearted cadet a year ahead of me who didn’t try to murder me with words.

Rosita and I met through Campus Crusade for Christ at The Citadel.  I credit her with inviting me to join a prayer group in the chapel one night.  It was that night of prayer that opened my eyes to all that God was doing on the campus and changed my whole outlook on the place (I also met Olivia that night)… after that, I was just stoked to be where God was at work and didn’t want to leave!

Another memory I have of Rosita is the support she gave me while I was going through chemotherapy and radiation for Hodgkin’s Lymphoma following my freshmen year at The Citadel.  Last year Rosita ran the Disney Marathon in Orlando, Florida to raise money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  She ran with my name, and 25 other people who have battled or are battling cancer, on her shirt.

I listed her because she is running the Dublin Marathon in Ireland to raise money for the LLS this year and is a $1700 short with less than a week left to gather the funds.  I have included a link to her fundraising page below so you can read her words for yourself.  If you feel inclined to give, I know it would mean a lot to Rosita to have your support.

You can check out her fundraising page here: http://pages.teamintraining.org/vtnt/dublin11/anavarrkg9

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

