Skip to content

Making Planets

September 14, 2011

Most people who know me know I enjoy making things.  It doesn’t matter whether it involves paint, jigsaws, fiberglass, coke cans, wax paper or spray paint, if I get an idea, I’m going to find a way to make it happen.  Another passion of mine is photography.  I don’t know why exactly.  This last project is one that blends both photography and making something.

Recently I’ve been taking panorama shots.  I take a lot of photos taken next to each other, then stitch them together with special software designed to blend them into one photo.  This was especially helpful in Yosemite, where everything is huge and I couldn’t fit it into the frame of my camera very easily.  I’ve been intrigued at how people take panoramas and do something particularly special with them.  There are tons of different styles out there, but I focused in on one specific type of panorama:

This is what I began with:

Evelyn Lake was my campsite on the 2nd day of my hike through Yosemite.

This is what I ended up with:

Watch out for the vortex in the middle. It'll suck you in!

This is what I started with:

This is the view from on top of Half Dome

This is what I ended up with:

This is what I started with:

I took this panorama while I was at a conference for Scripture Union in Gitega, Burundi

This is what I ended up with: (Planet Gitega)

This is what I started with:

I climbed out of Lyell Canyon to finish off a 14 mile day. This is what it looked like in the early evening.

This is what I ended up with:

Which planet would you prefer to live on?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    September 14, 2011 06:33

    Definately Gitega- there’s shelter and trees:).

  2. September 15, 2011 00:25

    Evelyn Lake! I’m not convinced that vortex is so bad

  3. Kelly permalink
    September 15, 2011 13:44

    I really like the first one of Evelyn lake.

  4. September 25, 2011 19:47

    Awesome. You might enjoy “Wasteland” documentry

Trackbacks

  1. Planet Las Vegas « Sitting in the Catbird Seat

Leave a Reply

